Expanded Access to Web of Science
April 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm | In databases | Leave a CommentGalvin Library is pleased to announce that online coverage in Web of Science / Science Citation Index has been expanded to include citations and abstracts back to 1981. Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world.
Web of Science includes powerful applications such as cited reference searching, citation maps, and the analyze tool. Using cited reference searching, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover relevant information. The citation index allows you to see all the references cited by the article, which other articles have cited the article, and allows you to create a citation map of the information. With the analyze tool you can perform a search on a specific topic or generate a list of authors who published articles on that subject. This is a great database to use if you have an article of interest and want to expand your search to related documents. Related articles are linked throughout the database.
Web of Science also allows you to:
- Save and manage your references online with EndNote Web – freely available and fully integrated
- Save and run searches
- Create alerts and RSS feeds
- Choose your start page
For citation searching prior to 1981, please consult the print copies of Science Citation Index shelved in the index/abstract area of the reference collection on the upper level.
Library Databases Have a New Look
July 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm | In databases, e-journals | Leave a CommentYou may have noticed that many of your favorite databases are looking different these days. No, the summer heat isn’t playing tricks with your mind. EBSCO, the platform that hosts popular databases such as Academic Search Premier, Inspec and Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, has unveiled a new design. The new interface, known as EBSCO 2.0, provides enhanced searching features and a more user-friendly design. The following databases have the new EBSCO 2.0 interface:
Academic Search Premier
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Biological Abstracts
Business Source Premier
Communication & Mass Media Complete
EBSCO Animals
EconLit
ERIC
Food Sceince and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
GreenFILE
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Health Source – Consumer Edition
Health Source – Nursing/Academic Edition
Inspec
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
MAS Ultra
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Military & Government Collection
Newspaper Source
Philosopher’s Index
Primary Search
Professional Development Collection
PsycARTICLES
PsycEXTRA
PsycINFO
Regional Business News
Teacher Reference Service
Have questions on new features or searching any of these databases? Librarians are available to assist you. Stop by the reference desk on the upper level of Galvin to get personalized research help. If you can’t make it in, you may phone, IM or email librarians from the convenience of your home or office. See the Ask a Librarian page for contact information.
IIT Library Links in Google Scholar
January 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm | In GetArticle@IIT, databases, research tools | Leave a CommentWe’re pleased to now offer links to IIT library services from within Google Scholar, the popular academic search engine. When doing a search in Google Scholar, users on the IIT main campus will automatically see links like the ones below in the search results. Off-campus users can also get the links by setting up IIT Library Links in the Scholar Preferences section of Google Scholar. (Click here for instructions on setting up Library Links).

If full-text access is available to a journal article in your search results through IIT, you’ll see the GetArticle@IIT link. Follow this link to the SFX menu, which will show you options for getting the full text of the article.
If online full-text is not available, use the More options @ IIT link to see if the journal is held in print at the library, to connect to Document Delivery services and get the article via interlibrary loan, or to see if an abstract or table of contents is available electronically.
At the moment, IIT Library Links are available for journal articles only, not for books. To check if IIT has a book you’ve found in Google Scholar, use the IIT Library Catalog.
Disclaimer: Users should note that Google Scholar is still in “beta,” or test mode, and that not all academic publishers allow Google full access to their content. Therefore Galvin Library cannot completely guarantee the accuracy and functionality of Google Scholar Library Links, nor is it our opinion that a search in Google Scholar is a viable replacement for a search using library-provided bibliographic databases and indexes, many of which also do not allow Google Scholar to access their content. If you experience problems getting the full text of an article via the GetArticle@IIT link, use the Journal A-Z List or Article Finder on our web site to see if full-text access is available.
EconLit Added to Library Databases
July 5, 2007 at 10:42 pm | In databases, new resources | Leave a Comment
Galvin Library is pleased to announce the addition of EconLit to the library’s collection of online research databases. Maintained by the American Economic Association, EconLit is one of the most substantial online resources for economic literature. Covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics, the database contains over 785,000 citations and abstracts dating back to 1969, and in some cases links to full-text articles. EconLit uses the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
Examples of publications indexed in EconLit include: Business Economics, Harvard Business Review, Journal of Applied Business Research, Marketing Science, and Technology Analysis and Strategic Management. EconLit records also include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press.
EconLit can be accessed via the link above or through the Galvin Library E-Resources page.
SciFinder Scholar 2007 Now Available
June 26, 2007 at 9:41 pm | In databases, new resources | Leave a Comment
A new version of SciFinder Scholar — the online database for journal literature in biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, and materials science — is now available at Galvin Library. SciFinder Scholar 2007 has been installed on all library public computers and is ready to use. You can also download the new version for use on your own computer here. (Please note that SciFinder can only be used from on-campus computers that have an IIT IP address).
SciFinder Scholar 2007 offers powerful new features:
Categorize references This tool enables you to sort and evaluate information in your answer sets by creating a histogram for easy analysis. Categorize separates related references on the basis of their associated CA index terms. With categorize, you can reassemble the different subsets in unique ways creating opportunities for new insights.
Save answers Now you can save answer lists of references, substances, or reactions and re-use them later in other SciFinder Scholar sessions.
Combine answer sets The combine tool makes it possible to focus on a particular research topic in new ways by combining the substances, reactions, and references in an active answer set with those in a previously saved one. By employing various options of Combine, Intersect, or Remove, you can manipulate and customize the information contained in these combined answer sets.
Print structures in grid format Gain a unique comparative view of multiple chemical structures by printing them side by side in this handy grid arrangement.
Visit cas.org to view examples that will show you the latest SciFinder Scholar 2007 features.
For any questions on using SciFinder Scholar, please Ask a Librarian.
PsycINFO Facelift!
June 11, 2007 at 3:41 pm | In databases | Leave a CommentOn Monday June 11, 2007, the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases will transfer from ProQuest to the CSA Illumina interface. The search functionality will remain the same, with the following enhanced features that were not in the ProQuest interface:
Linked Author Searches:
You can click on an author’s name in CSA Illumina and it will retrieve all articles written by that author that are indexed in PsycINFO or PsycArticles.
Linked References:
You can jump to an article in the record’s reference list by clicking on the link. The reference list also includes links to every article that cites the specific reference.
Up-Front Descriptors:
Broad descriptions of the articles are highlighted in the results screen for a quick glimpse into what the article investigates. Click on one of these descriptors to retrieve all results that contain that descriptor in the record.
Publication Type Sorting
Browse all publication types or click on one of the publication type tabs in the results list to view only Peer-Reviewed Journals, Conferences, Books, and a variety of other publication types.
For more information about the CSA Illumina interface, see CSA’s Quick Reference Card (PDF).
Please contact Jannelle Ruswick, Reference Librarian for Psychology and Social Sciences, for assistance using the new interface. If you have a ProQuest account with saved searches, let Ms. Ruswick know and she will assist you in transferring your searches to CSA.
CSEP Library Launches NanoEthicsBank
May 14, 2007 at 7:59 pm | In CSEP Library, databases | 1 CommentThe Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions Library has recently launched the NanoEthicsBank, a resource for researchers, scholars, students, and the general public who are interested in the social and ethical implications of nanotechnology. Items in the database fall into the following four categories:
- National and International initiatives to build a regulatory framework for nanotechnology research and development.
- Public perception and acceptance of nanotechnology, including popular media coverage, and efforts of public engagement by governments, academic institutes, and industry.
- Development of best practices and voluntary standards by industry and businesses using nanoparticles.
- Ethical development of nanotechnology: military use, questions of privacy and surveillance, bioethics, and nanomedicine.
New material is added to the NanoEthicsBank as it becomes published or available online.
Records contained in the database include all relevant citation information, an abstract, and links to materials available on the World Wide Web. IIT users can access almost all other material cited in the database through Galvin Library’s E-Resources. The full text of publicly available documents, such as government reports, is included in the NEB, and more will become available as authors and publishers grant copyright permission.
The NanoEthicsBank is part of the NanoConnection to Society project that will be an important resource on the interchange of public discourse, regulation, and economics in the development nanotechnology. It will support the study of how society shapes the development of technology, and how technology shapes society. The NanoConnection to Society database is part of the Center for Nanotechnology and Society, funded by the National Science Foundation and the National Nanotechnology Initiative.
To access the NanoEthicsBank (NEB), click here.
Blog at WordPress.com. | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.