New: DARTS Database March 12, 2007
Posted by galvinlibrary in databases, government documents, new resources.add a comment
DARTS: Depository Access to Reports, Technical & Scientific
Paul V. Galvin Library has been chosen to participate in a pilot project designed to provide Federal Depository Libraries with online access to government technical and scientific reports. The cooperative program partners the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), the Government Printing Office (GPO) and the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). Through this partnership, over 240,000 technical and scientific reports are being made available to the patrons of select Federal Depository Libraries.
Galvin Library hosts Federal Depository #0146-A, which was established in 1982. The physical collection boasts over 100,000 technical reports from agencies such as the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Department of Energy (DOE) and the Department of Defense (DoD).
Galvin Library’s status as a depository allows for our participation in the DARTS Pilot Project which will provide our patrons with access to almost a quarter million technical reports in electronic format. Online access to these reports, published by NASA, DOE, DoD and other agencies, will augment the library’s physical collection. Most of these reports, which were published between 1964 and 2000, were not available to depository libraries and were only available for purchase from NTIS prior to the creation of this program.
Access to this valuable database is moderated by a login controlled by Depository Staff. Furthermore, access is limited to the workstations surrounding the Reference Desk at the Paul V. Galvin Library. Please contact the Reference Desk (x7-3616) for more information regarding access to DARTS. Click here to enter DARTS. You will need to ask a librarian for the username and password.
The heaviest subject areas covered by DARTS are as follows:
• Physics (16%)
• Environmental Pollution and Control (13%)
• Nuclear Science and Technology (13%)
• Medicine and Biology (11%)
• Energy (8%)
• Chemistry (7%)
• Materials Science (7%)
• Natural Resources and Earth Sciences (6%)
• Computers and Information Theory (5%)
• Behavior and Society (7%) – includes psychology, education, law and sociology, and international relations.
The Paul V. Galvin Library is proud to have been selected as a participant in the DARTS Pilot Project, and congratulates all the involved agencies on their tremendous breakthrough!
IIT Library Links in Google Scholar January 12, 2007
Posted by galvinlibrary in GetArticle@IIT, databases, e-journals, new resources.add a comment
We’re pleased to now offer links to IIT library services from within Google Scholar, the popular academic search engine. When doing a search in Google Scholar, users on the IIT main campus will automatically see links like the ones below in the search results. Off-campus users can also get the links by setting up IIT Library Links in the Scholar Preferences section of Google Scholar. (Click here for instructions on setting up Library Links).

If full-text access is available to a journal article in your search results through IIT, you’ll see the GetArticle@IIT link. Follow this link to the SFX menu, which will show you options for getting the full text of the article.
If online full-text is not available, use the More options @ IIT link to see if the journal is held in print at the library, to connect to Document Delivery services and get the article via interlibrary loan, or to see if an abstract or table of contents is available electronically.
At the moment, IIT Library Links are available for journal articles only, not for books. To check if IIT has a book you’ve found in Google Scholar, use the IIT Library Catalog.
Disclaimer: Users should note that Google Scholar is still in “beta,” or test mode, and that not all academic publishers allow Google full access to their content. Therefore Galvin Library cannot completely guarantee the accuracy and functionality of Google Scholar Library Links, nor is it our opinion that a search in Google Scholar is a viable replacement for a search using library-provided bibliographic databases and indexes, many of which also do not allow Google Scholar to access their content. If you experience problems getting the full text of an article via the GetArticle@IIT link, use the Journal A-Z List or Article Finder on our web site to see if full-text access is available.
Over 250 Wiley InterScience Journals Now Available January 4, 2007
Posted by galvinlibrary in databases, e-journals, new resources.add a comment
![]()
Galvin Library has signed a resource sharing agreement for Wiley InterScience electronic journals between participating universities in Illinois. Under this arrangement, Galvin Library gains access to all 272 journals subscribed to by the participating universities. Access to joint titles extends back to 1997, where available (and in some cases earlier). Other participants include the University of Chicago, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Northern Illinois University, Loyola University of Chicago, Loyola University School of Medicine, Rush University, and DePaul University.
NewsBank-America’s Newspapers added to Galvin Library databases December 4, 2006
Posted by pattie in databases, library web site, new resources.add a comment
NewsBank-America’s Newspapers provides online full-text for more than 750 local, regional and national U.S. newspapers in one easy to use database. Search for articles on current events, business, sports, culture, entertainment, and more. The interface allows you to easily narrow your search to a specific geographic region. Major newspapers like the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Sun-Times, and Washington Post are all available, as well as news magazines like Time and U.S. News and World Report or popular titles like InStyle and Sports Illustrated. NewsBank-America’s Newspapers can be accessed via the Library’s e-resources page, along with many other research and news databases.