Best Book Ever!?!

March 26, 2008 at 9:02 pm | Posted in National Library Week | 22 Comments

Got a favorite book you wish everyone knew about? Tell us about it! In honor of National Library Week (April 13-19th), Galvin Library will be honoring IIT students’ most beloved books.

Let us know in the comments below what your favorite book is, and why you love it so much. We’ll put a copy of your book on display next to the Circulation desk on the lower level of the library. Make it fun – that means no textbooks! (Well, OK, but only if it’s *really* your favorite book).

Don’t miss upcoming announcements on other National Library Week activities and contests!

22 Comments

  1. Watchers by Dean Koontz, hands down. I read this almost 5 years ago, and I am one of those people who once I finish a book I pick up a new one. Since reading Watchers I have read so many books, countless amounts. And Watchers stays at the top of my favorites list!

    Like

  2. One of my favorite memoirs is “Speak, Memory” by Nabokov, which is written eloquently. It’s a shame Nabokov didn’t have a chance to write the follow up. My favorite novel at the moment is Wright’s “Native Son.” This was Wright’s masterpiece. It’s captivating, disturbing, and honest.

    Like

  3. ‘Physics of Impossibilites’ is an amazing book that I would recommend everyone interested in ‘what future life would be’ to read. This book gives a detailed discussion over the nowadays’ impossibilities and predicts that some physical phenomena (visibilities, telepathy, force fields, etc.) would arbitually take place in a highly developed human civilization, which we can reach maybe within our lifetime.

    Like

  4. My favorite book is actually two, its a toss up between “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen, and “Little Women” by Louis May Alcott. These stories never get old to me. The characters are real and natural not forced to act a certain way so that they’ll go along with the plot.

    Like

  5. My favorite is The Power of One by Bryce Courtnay, followed by To Kil A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I like how the characters are reflecting back on their childhood, and the lessons they learned from that time… as well as the different perspective they have as adults and the greater understanding they have now.

    Like

  6. One of my favorite books is the “Things They Carried” by Tim O’brien.
    The novel, which is about the Vienam War, vividly depicts dramatic scenes of the war and the emotions of about 6 different soldiers. The interesting thing about the novel is that it sees the war as that of individuals rather than that of nations. Although the soldiers act as one, they all have different characteristics. The novel is nothing like the hollywood hero movies but its capturing of individual human emotion seems enough to keep us interested. I strongly recommend this book.

    Like

  7. My favorite book so far is probably the Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. in general i really enjoyed the story. it had an interesting plot line that somehow kept you very interested and made you always want to read on. the other part i really liked about it was the variety of symbolism seen throughout the book. at the time i read the book i was also learning about symbolism in literature and i found it very intriguing how the author incorporated it into the story. sometimes the symbolism was obvious, sometimes it was hidden, other times it would foreshadow to future events in the book.

    Like

  8. “20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” by Jules Verne who is the father of science fiction. The story is about a naturalist Arronax and his trip under the sea. At first he was invited to catch a whale which is very rare. Unfortunately, they failed, they dropped into the sea and when Arronax waked up, he was in the “wale”‘s body. Actually, this wale is a submarine. The captain Nemo invited him to the trip under the sea. Arronax met a lot of things that he has never seen. This book is extremely interesting, I like it so much.

    Like

  9. My favorite book is Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. I read this book my junior year in high school. I found this book to be very interesting. I also found it hard to put the book down because I always wanted to find out what was going to happen next. I also learned a lot about the history of the Vatican as well as physics and science. The book is very well written and has a great plot. I really enjoyed this book and it’s a great read.

    Like

  10. “Bound For Glory,” by Woody Guthrie, it shows the struggles of life that he had to overcome in order to make it in life. The reason this book is one of my favorites because it shows how hard real life is and the hardships people face and have to overcome in order to succeed in life.

    Like

  11. “Alas Babylon,” written by American author Pat Frank has been one of my favorite books since i first read it in high school. This novel details a fictional WWIII, the destruction of most developed nations around the world, and a struggle to survive and rebuild in a small central Florida town. It is a shocking look into how close we came to WWIII during the Cold War and how those events could dramatically effect civilization as we know it. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in war novels or the Cold War.

    Like

  12. I would have to say my favorite book is Lipstick Jungle by Candace Bushnell. A TV version has just came out but is much different from the actual book. I enjoyed reading this book because it tells several story lines about successful woman and how they worked their way to the top on their own.

    Like

  13. My favorite book would have to be Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six. I like how he has many different plot lines going on at one time. This style of writing keeps me interested and enjoy reading.

    Like

  14. My favorite book would probably have to be One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest. I dont have any particular reason why but it was a very interesting read. I also felt the book was much better than the movie (almost always).

    Like

  15. My favorite book is “Devil in the White City” by Erik Larson. This book was recommened to me by several people when they learned that I was going to be studying architecture in Chicago. “Devil in the White City” is a historically based telling of the Chicago’s World Fair, along with the parallel tale of a serial killer who used the hustle of the fair to his advantage. I recommend this book to anyone, you don’t have to be an architecture major to enjoy its full potential.

    Like

  16. “Sphere” by Michael Crichton. It was a very interesting read and it was very suspenseful, it kept me reading the entire time. The idea behind the book was very interesting, since I enjoy science fiction, this book created a certain curiosity in mind as to whether something like the events in book could ever happen.

    Like

  17. “Girls of Riyadh” by Rajaa Alsanea. I liked this book particularly because it gave you a insight in a new light on a topic thats is usually avoided in Saudi Arabia. I guess it just gives you a clear understanding from the point of view of people who actually experience it. This book follows the lives of four girls and their relationships with the opposite gender, their friends and family and themselves.

    Like

  18. “Harry Potter” series by J.K. Rowling is my favorite. I like “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” the most. This book is full of love, courage, and magic. I admire the author, J.K. Rowling’s imagination. Sirius Black is my favorite character. He is very mysterious at the beginning of the story. When the story goes on, I surely agree with Harry that Sirius Black betrayed his parents. Finnally, when the story reaches its ending, I find out that Sirius Black is actually a good guy and Harry’s godfather. I feel happy for Harry because it is the first time he might be able to have a home. But unfortunately, Sirius Black has to run…

    Like

  19. A book that I like is “To Kill A Mockingbird.: It was a book that I read in Middle School. I enjoy it because it is a classic. The book has characters that you will always remmember.

    Like

  20. My favorite book is ‘Angels and Demons’ by Dan Brown. I read this book in my senior year in high school. The book is amazing because it shows the evil of man and the desperate measures man takes to satisfy his selfish desires. The plot is ingenious and exposes us to a variety of complex characters and vocabulary worth knowing.I also learnt a lot about the vatican city and the process in which the Popes are chosen. I never knew there was such a thing as a camarelengo(popes assistant), and that he could become the next pope if all the vatican elders cried his name thrice in unism!!! My words here cannot do justice to this book you have to read it!!! It taught me that you can never judge anyone because even those that seem ‘holy’ may be spawns of satan himself!

    Like

  21. I read “Atlas Shrugged” voluntarily for an oral and visual presentation my freshman year of high school. Although this book is 1000+ pages and I was only given a month to complete the project, I simply could not put it down. This book is my bible; it changed my entire outlook on life, and I consequently read almost every single book ever written by or about Ayn Rand. It was one of those life-altering experiences that reassures you of your place in life, and I was very comforted in knowing that there are actually people similar to the characters in the novel that exist in this world.

    Like

  22. Siddhartha by Herman Hesse is one of my all time favorites. I read this book during my senior year in high school and it was very inspiring. It helped me think about my life, where I had been, the point I was at then, and where I wanted to be in the future. This is a great book and I recommend it for everyone.

    Like


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

